The Crafty Shrimp

My crafting adventures in fabric, clay and more…

Another day, another blog! July 1, 2007

Filed under: Bowl,Pottery — Eva @ 7:40 pm

bowl.jpg

 

 

Why start another blog, I feel like I don’t get to post often enough on my first one! But I’ve found I’ve been spending a lot of time crafting recently for a few reasons. First, is a sewingmachine my mum gave me as a delayed birthday present (about 1.5 years-I’m so lucky I still got it!!) and second, I’ve started taken potteryclasses again. This is something I used to do and enjoy tremendously. So I was overjoyed when I found an english class in Basel. But now I’ve been producing lots of stuff and I want to log this somewhere so therefore this blog. A collection of creations with probably not so much text but we will see how it develops.

 

First up is a blow I made recently that is a birthdaypresent for my brother (happy birthday Tobias!). It’s a rolled slab of clay with a texture rolled into it (from a metal strip with lots of holes). Drapping it over a bowl created the wavey edge and some feet were slipped onto it. It came out very very shiny after the glazing as there was an accident with the kiln so it was at a high temperature for 2-3 days instead of 2-3 hours! But the effect was beautiful and I love how the glazing has all these different shades in it (an effect of my uneven pouring the glaze).

 

2 Responses to “Another day, another blog!”

  1. Eva, that is beautiful! I took a pottery class once (wheel), and while I had a few items that turned out really well, nothing looked remotely as spectacular as this.

  2. Di Says:

    Hi Eva
    I love the pottery! I am glad that you managed to find a class! I seem to not produce much in the way of anything at the moment – except posts in my blog!! Looking forward to some creative time this weekend – after all I did get lots of ideas at Woolfest!!
    Di


Leave a Reply

